MOVES Recordings and Afro Nation are proud to present Afro Nation Vol 1

by | Dec 13, 2019 | News

Pulling together an all-star line-up from across Africa and the diaspora, Afro Nation Vol 1 is a trailblazing first installment in an ongoing collaboration between Moves Recordings and the Afro Nation festival.

WhatsApp Image 2019 12 13 at 10.47.25

Featuring Ice Prince, Vanessa Mdee, Kidi, Slim Kofi, Adekunle Gold, Bisa Kdei, Tiwa Savage, Reekado Banks, Medikal, Darkovibes, Kuami Eugene, Boj, Oxlade, Joey B, Kiddblack, and Lighter TOD on a series of all new tracks, the tape covers the full spectrum of Afrobeats, from the Alte scene, inspired sonic innovation of Reekado Banks & Oxlade’s – Craze, to the bouncy, flute-driven banger of Wata Bam Bam, where Afrobeats legend Ice Prince joins forces with Tanzanian’s first lady of AfroPop Vanessa Mdee, to the dayglo AfroTrap sizzle of the Joey B x Kid Blackk x Lighter TOD link up Swag.

With the majority of the Afro Nation compilation A&R’d across continents via Whats App, this project is the first of its kind; the product of African artists, producers, and managers linking together from all four corners of the Earth and finding common ground in music from the motherland. This mobile-to-mobile exchange of music and ideas has allowed Moves Recordings to compile tracks that have, for example, been produced in Holland, vocalled in Tanzania, Nigeria and Ghana, then mixed in London, all in a matter of weeks.

Released to coincide with Afro Nation Ghana, the latest installment of the festival taking place in Accra, December 2019, and already long sold out, this is the first installment in a series that promises to be as game-changing as the festival which inspired it.


Smade, P Montana – Afro Nation Vol.1 – Intro
Slim Kofi, Ice Prince, Vanessa Mdee, Kidi – Watta Bam Bam
Lighter T.O.D, Joey B, Kiddblack (La Meme Gang) – Swag
Medikal, Kuami Eugene, Kelvyn Boy, DarkoVibes (La Meme Gang), Kwesi Arthur – Amen
Eddie Kadi – Afro Nation Wo Wo Woo! – Interlude
Bisa Kdei, Adekunle Gold – Adiza
Oxlade, Reekado Banks – Craze
Eugy, Br3nya – Body
Terry Apala – Jangolova (Bonus Track)

The next installment of the series, Afro Nation Vol 2, will be recorded at a writing camp in Ghana during the forthcoming Afro Nation Festival, which takes place between the 27-30 December in the country’s capital, Accra. This is currently scheduled for release in February 2020.